Back to what feels good

It’s been a long time coming, but I did it.  And at the recommendation of my therapist.  

I hit the road and went on a road trip.  Just a day of driving and exploring.  It was something that I needed and my soul feels a bit recovered.  The only thing that could have made it better would have been if I actually liked where we went the first night.  

I woke up Wednesday and hit the road.  Took 24 to 65 to 69 to 70.  Headed west and made it for the first time in my life to a new state…marking another one off my list. 

Can you guess where I went?


I hated St. Louis.  Maybe it was the way into the city that I took, maybe it was just that the traffic was the worst I have ever been in my life.  I’m not sure.  But I hated it.  Needless to say, we found the arch, took some pics, and then never looked back.  

Thanks St Louis,  It’s been real.  But I’ve had enough. 

The next morning when we woke up, it was raining.  Ended up being rain from the same storms that flooded Kansas.  We decided not to explore around St Louis and just head to our next destination.  

#BigThingsSmallTown

I love Americana.  I’m one of those people that is more excited by finding something big on the side of the road, or in a town, and getting pics with it.  I find that stuff amusing and fascinating. Off of 70, on the way home, is a town known as Big Things in a Small Town.  There’s one hotel in the city, a nice Days Inn.

This town is called Casey, Illinois.  The nicest people I have ever met are here.  I met an awesome lady at the country club and talked to her.  She later found me on Facebook and thanked me for stopping by and visiting the town.  Every person we passed would wave at us. 

They have many large things, and many World’s Largest things.  They have guides pointing to the direction on decorative poles around town.  They have truly embraced their originality.  

We saw the World’s Largest

Pitchfork

Mailbox

Wind Chimes

Rocking Chair

Knitting Needles

And then we saw large but not world’s largest

Yardstick

Pencil

Birdcage

If you love Americana, Casey is your town!

Here’s a small sample of what we saw, showing you how close the rocking chair and wind chimes are to each other.  

​​

This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

